Tier 2 & 3 Rugby Forum

Touch Law

Posts: 105
Joined: Sun, 11 Mar 2018, 15:48
National Flag:
EnglandEngland

Touch Law

Postby Tomster7uk » Wed, 24 Oct 2018, 23:24

Current touch law: If the ball is kicked out beyond the line of touch but does not hit anything beyond the touchline and curves back into the field of play via wind or ball spin. Does it count as ‘in touch’.

User avatar
Posts: 1702
Joined: Thu, 26 Jun 2014, 05:56
Location: Zemo Vera, Tbilissi, GEORGIA

Re: Touch Law

Postby FLIDTA RISXVA » Thu, 25 Oct 2018, 08:01

Missing from Law 18.1
but by analogy with 12.7 (kick-off) and 12.15 (drop-out)
+ SOME LOGIC it would be PLAY ON = not in touch

OR exactly the opposite = if one follows the letter of Law

Posts: 37
Joined: Mon, 06 Jul 2015, 12:03
National Flag:
GermanyGermany

Re: Touch Law

Postby Werner » Thu, 25 Oct 2018, 09:23

Tomster7uk wrote:Current touch law: If the ball is kicked out beyond the line of touch but does not hit anything beyond the touchline and curves back into the field of play via wind or ball spin. Does it count as ‘in touch’.

Law 18.1 states clearly
1. The ball is in touch or touch-in-goal when:
a) The ball (or ball-carrier) touches the touchline, touch-in-goal line or anything beyond.

As the ball is in the air and did not touch anything, it is still in play and not in touch.

Law 18 1.b and 2. are describing special scenarios and are not applicable.

Posts: 1010
Joined: Tue, 27 May 2014, 20:40
Location: Europe
National Flag:
Great BritainGreat Britain

Re: Touch Law

Postby Thomas » Thu, 25 Oct 2018, 09:41

Werner wrote:
Tomster7uk wrote:Current touch law: If the ball is kicked out beyond the line of touch but does not hit anything beyond the touchline and curves back into the field of play via wind or ball spin. Does it count as ‘in touch’.

Law 18.1 states clearly
1. The ball is in touch or touch-in-goal when:
a) The ball (or ball-carrier) touches the touchline, touch-in-goal line or anything beyond.

As the ball is in the air and did not touch anything, it is still in play and not in touch.

Law 18 1.b and 2. are describing special scenarios and are not applicable.


That is true but is also the judgement of the Touch judge if he raises the flag then is out irrespective if it flies back in.

Posts: 1
Joined: Thu, 22 Mar 2018, 10:45
National Flag:
SpainSpain

Re: Touch Law

Postby Manu » Thu, 25 Oct 2018, 10:51

The ball is in play.

It's the same as if a player catches the ball before the ball hits the ground.

User avatar
Posts: 823
Joined: Sat, 19 Apr 2014, 14:41
National Flag:
NetherlandsNetherlands

Re: Touch Law

Postby NedRugby » Fri, 26 Oct 2018, 09:48

Thomas wrote:
Werner wrote:
Tomster7uk wrote:Current touch law: If the ball is kicked out beyond the line of touch but does not hit anything beyond the touchline and curves back into the field of play via wind or ball spin. Does it count as ‘in touch’.

Law 18.1 states clearly
1. The ball is in touch or touch-in-goal when:
a) The ball (or ball-carrier) touches the touchline, touch-in-goal line or anything beyond.

As the ball is in the air and did not touch anything, it is still in play and not in touch.

Law 18 1.b and 2. are describing special scenarios and are not applicable.


That is true but is also the judgement of the Touch judge if he raises the flag then is out irrespective if it flies back in.


If the touch judge raises their flag before the ball has made touch then they have made a mistake.

It is quite different in soccer where the ball is considered out of play if it goes beyond the line and curves back in. This sometimes happens at corner kicks where a player taking an outswinging corner has be careful it doesn't cross the goal line first before coming back into the penalty area. The assistant referee usually stands in line with the goal line at corners and will spot this easily.

Posts: 105
Joined: Sun, 11 Mar 2018, 15:48
National Flag:
EnglandEngland

Re: Touch Law

Postby Tomster7uk » Fri, 26 Oct 2018, 20:51

I am also struggling to understand the amendment made in May this year where a player is;

stood in touch and catches the ball at the plane of touch...other than a penalty kick, does this result to the catcher's team throw in every time?

Posts: 37
Joined: Mon, 06 Jul 2015, 12:03
National Flag:
GermanyGermany

Re: Touch Law

Postby Werner » Fri, 26 Oct 2018, 22:57

Tomster7uk wrote:I am also struggling to understand the amendment made in May this year where a player is;

stood in touch and catches the ball at the plane of touch...other than a penalty kick, does this result to the catcher's team throw in every time?
Law 18: "May 2018 law amend
If the ball has reached the plane of touch when it is caught, the catcher is not deemed to have taken the ball into touch."

Simply read this this way:
When the ball reached the plane of touch it is out when it touches the ground OR (touches a player or a catcher or anything on or beyond the line of touch).
In case of a penalty kick it's a line out for the kickers team, otherwise the other team throws in.

Return to Rugby Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], dwpeate, ficcp, Google [Bot], Tintifax and 17 guests