Tier 2 & 3 Rugby Forum

Your Introduction to Rugby and Earliest Memories

National Flag:
AustraliaAustralia

Your Introduction to Rugby and Earliest Memories

Postby thatrugbyguy » Sun, 15 Mar 2020, 00:54

Given there's not much to really talk about at the moment as the virus has postponed a lot of things I thought it would be nice to talk about how people discovered rugby, what their earliest memories are, what big events they witnessed etc. Were you a child or teenager when you discovered it? Were you introduced through school or a parent or a friend? Did you play when you were young, win any championships, do some coaching etc? The idea came from the RWC 2019 thread thanks to Hernan. So share your stories about how you discovered the game!

National Flag:
BrazilBrazil

Re: Your Introduction to Rugby and Earliest Memories

Postby victorsra » Sun, 15 Mar 2020, 01:22

I only started playing in the year I entered the university, 2006. At that time rugby was smaller in Brazil, but I knew it for long time.

It is a bit odd story but I discovered rugby when I was a kid (around 10 yo) with a book and I got realy interested. But I did not know anybody that played...

In 1999 I visited Australia and NZ with my family and saw rugby on TV there in the hotel, bought a ball and the RWC video game.

In 2003 ESPN broadcasted the RWC for the first time to Brazil and I really became a fan. I tried to find a club to play, but information on internet was very poor. I knew the University of São Paulo had rugby teams and that was basicaly the first thing I did when I entered there... I went straight to the field in my first day.
Last edited by victorsra on Sun, 15 Mar 2020, 04:00, edited 1 time in total.
Brazilian Rugby News: www.portaldorugby.com.br

National Flag:
AustraliaAustralia

Postby thatrugbyguy » Sun, 15 Mar 2020, 02:53